Carisbrooke Tennis Club News!

The latest news from one of Leicestershire's premier tennis clubs.

Mercury Cup 2018

cltc fixtures 2018

Mercury Cup mixed knock-out competition

Carisbrooke have lost in the quarter-finals of this knock-out mixed cup competition for the past two seasons but this is a competition where Carisbrooke have a rich history.

We won the tile four times in the 1920s, the decade of the cup’s inception (sponsored by local newspaper the Leicester Mercury), and have gone on to tally an impressive 35 wins since.

In more recent times, we won the title in 2015 in a tightly-fought contest against Hamilton, a year after losing to Roundhill for the crown in our bid to three-peat in an equally close final-set encounter. We made the final in four consecutive years between 2012-2015, winning the title in 2012 (our first win for 16 years), 2013 and 2015.

The 2018 Mercury Cup

We are seeded No 4 for this year’s competition.

  • Preliminary round (April 28th): Bye
  • 1st round: Saturday, May 12th: Won against Leicester Forest East. Reached the required five rubbers at the start of the third round of matches. (Team: Franky G/Mark Jeffreys; Liz Mansell/Alex Blackwell;Steffan Grubs/Anna G).
  • Quarter-final: Saturday, May 26th. Lost against Loughborough Town at home. Loughborough reached the required five rubbers in the second round. (Team: Franky G/Mark Jeffreys; Liz Mansell/Josh Nunn; Sam Preston/Daniella).


Return to 2018 fixtures

You may also like
More silverware for Carisbrooke at 2019 county awards
Tournaments at Carisbrooke in 2019
Aegon National Club League fixtures 2019
Save the date: The 2019 AGM has now been scheduled

Leave a Reply