Carisbrooke Tennis Club News!

The latest news from one of Leicestershire's premier tennis clubs.

Finals Day extravaganza 2017

sponsors Carisbrooke Club Champs 2016

It’s almost time for one of the banner days in the Carisbrooke Tennis Club calendar – the annual Finals Day!

Our club champions for 2017 will be crowned this Saturday (September 9) but as well as the dénouement to the annual club tournament, there’s also heaps of other family-fun planned for the day.

So while our 15 different men’s, ladies’, mixed, veterans’ and under-17s’ finals are being playing out on the show courts, you can kick back with a drink from the bar and tuck into our free barbecue (from 2pm onwards – extra barbecue added for 2017).

There’s also a free bouncy castle for children to enjoy and the whole family plus friends are very much welcome to come on down on the day to check out what Carisbrooke’s all about.

The action is set to get under way at 10am with the main finals from around 1pm. Trophy presentations are due to take place at around 6pm.

All that remains is for some decent weather for the day. Please note: if the weather is particular bad this Saturday, a reserve date of this Sunday (September 10) is being saved as a back-up plan. Keep your eyes out on your emails and the club’s Facebook page for updates.

The Finals Day roll of honour showing all the participants for 2017 is listed below. To view the latest progress of tournament matches, see our tournament homepage here. Best of luck to all those still in the hunt for some silverware!

We would like to say a big thank you to Drive Vauxhall Leicester, which has kindly agreed to sponsor the event again for 2017.

Men’s level singles – Josh Nunn v Alex Oldfield

Ladies’ level singles – Anna Galeva v Roisin Boyd

Men’s level doubles – Tom Kisiel and Bruce Wattie v Nick Alyett and Dan Perry

Ladies’ level doubles – Jo Wright and Anna Galeva v Liz Mansell & Abigail Wilkin

Mixed level doubles – Josh Nunn and Jo Wright v Mark Jeffreys and Anna galeva

Men’s over-35s level singles – Nick Aylett v Dan Perry

Veterans (over-45s) men’s level doubles – Phil Smith and Bruce Wattie v Simon Armstrong and Paul Jessop

Veterans mixed level doubles (men: over 45s, women: over-40s) – Kevin Leck and Helen Shaw v Gene Harris and Liz Mansell

Men’s handicap singles – Tony Pratt v Dan Perry

Ladies’ handicap singles – Jo Pochin v Fiona Phythian

Men’s handicap doubles – Jonathan Lees and Tony Pratt v Ash and Sahil Jahangir

Ladies’ handicap doubles – Jo Pochin and Anna Thorpe v Angela Wortley and Fiona Jeffreys

Mixed handicap doubles – Tony Pratt and Anna Thorpe v Marvin and Fiona Phythian

Under-17s boys’ singles – Tom Maye-Banbury v Samik Chandarana

Under-17s girls’ singles – Roisin Boyd v Daniella Page


Return to Club News


You may also like
More silverware for Carisbrooke at 2019 county awards
Tournaments at Carisbrooke in 2019
Aegon National Club League fixtures 2019
Save the date: The 2019 AGM has now been scheduled

Leave a Reply