Carisbrooke Tennis Club News!

The latest news from one of Leicestershire's premier tennis clubs.

Club Champions 2017

Carisbrooke logo 2015 sponsors Carisbrooke Club Champs 2016

FINALS Day for our Club Championship, sponsored by Drive Vauxhall Leicester, took place on Saturday, September 9, 2017, and included some top matches as well being a fun social event for members, family and friends.

There was a high number of three-set matches this year to keep fans entertained throughout the day.

Club stalwart Mike Caban kindly handed out the trophies for the presentation ceremony and for her voluntary services to the club, Nina Armstrong was awarded the inaugural Sheila Caban Trophy, named in honour of Mike’s much-loved late wife Sheila who tragically passed away earlier this year.

Many thanks went to all the volunteers on the day who made the event possible, especially Head Coach Jack Simpson who worked hard behind the scenes to ensure the tournament ran without a hitch despite becoming a dad for the first time just before the championships started!

To see the draws for the entire championship, click here.

So, without further ado here’s the roll of honour for the 2017 club championships…

Men’s level singles

Josh Nunn beat Alex Oldfield 6-2, 6-7, 7-5

Ladies’ level singles

Anna Galeva beat Roisin Boyd 6-4, 6-1

Men’s level doubles

Tom Kisiel and Bruce Wattie beat Nick Alyett and Dan Perry 5-7, 7-6, 6-3

Ladies’ level doubles

Liz Mansell and Abigail Wilkin beat Jo Wright and Anna Galeva 6-2, 5-7, 7-5

Mixed level doubles

Mark Jeffreys and Anna Galeva beat Josh Nunn and Jo Wright 6-2, 6-3

Men’s over-35s level singles

Nick Aylett beat Dan Perry 6-4, 6-1

Veterans (over-45s) men’s level doubles

Phil Smith and Bruce Wattie beat Simon Armstrong and Paul Jessop 3-6, 6-0, 6-1

Veterans mixed level doubles (men: over 45s, women: over-40s)

Kevin Leck and Helen Shaw beat Gene Harris and Liz Mansell 6-2, 6-4

Men’s handicap singles

Dan Perry beat Tony Pratt 6-3, 6-2

Ladies’ handicap singles

Fiona Phythian beat Jo Pochin 6-1, 6-3

Men’s handicap doubles

Jonathan Lees and Tony Pratt beat Ash and Sahil Jahangir 6-2, 6-4

Ladies’ handicap doubles

Angela Wortley and Fiona Jeffreys beat Jo Pochin and Anna Thorpe 6-2, 4-6, 6-1

Mixed handicap doubles

Tony Pratt and Anna Thorpe beat Marvin and Fiona Phythian 6-2, 6-2

Under-17s boys’ singles

Tom Maye-Banbury beat Samik Chandarana 6-4, 6-1

Under-17s girls’ singles

Roisin Boyd beat Daniella Page 6-1, 6-3



Return to Club News

You may also like
More silverware for Carisbrooke at 2019 county awards
Tournaments at Carisbrooke in 2019
Aegon National Club League fixtures 2019
Save the date: The 2019 AGM has now been scheduled

Leave a Reply