Carisbrooke Tennis Club News!

The latest news from one of Leicestershire's premier tennis clubs.

Club Champions 2016


FINALS day for our Club Championship, sponsored by Drive Vauxhall Leicester, on Sunday, September 11, 2016, included some entertaining matches as well being a fun social day for members, family and friends.

The decision to postpone the event for a day proved to be a masterstroke as Saturday’s drab and dreary rain was replaced with glorious sunshine.

Many thanks go to all the volunteers on the day who made it possible.

To see the draw for the whole championship, click here.

So, without further ado a drum roll please for the roll of honour for the 2016 club champions…

Men’s singles

Jack Simpson beat Josh Nunn 6-0, 6-2

Women’s singles

Anna Galeva beat Franky Gutteridge 6-3, 6-4

Mixed doubles

Mark Jeffreys & Franky Gutteridge beat Chris Poli & Anna Galeva 6-1, 6-4

Men’s doubles

Mark Jeffreys & Josh Nunn beat Jack Simpson & Louie Fletcher 6-2, 6-3

Women’s doubles

Sarah Brown & Helen Shaw beat Liz Mansell & Jo Wright 6-1, 6-4

Men’s handicap singles

Samik Chandarana beat Gee Witcombe 6-4, 6-0

Women’s handicap singles

Jen Cole beat Jenny Gilbert 6-3, 6-3

Mixed handicap doubles

Steve Eames & Laura Harding beat Gee & Charlotte Witcombe 6-3, 6-3

Men’s handicap doubles

Sahil Jahangir & Simon Andrews beat Ryan Moran & Steve Willis 6-0, 6-4

Women’s handicap doubles

Anna Benton & Izzy Marriott beat Vanessa Chapman & Fiona Richmond 7-5, 6-1

Over-35s men’s singles

Phil Smith beat Bruce Wattie 6-3, 7-6

Over-45s veterans’ doubles

Paul Hammond & Phil Smith beat Nigel Benton & John Ford 6-4, 7-6

Veterans’ mixed doubles

Nigel Benton & Sarah Brown beat Tony Hampson & Liz Mansell 6-4, 6-2

Women’s mix-in doubles

Anna Benton & Jen Cole beat Laura Harding & Charlotte Witcombe 7-5, 6-4

U-17s boys’ singles final

Tom Maye-Banbury beat Samik Chandarana 6-3, 6-1

U-17s girls’ singles

Daniella Page beat Anna Benton 6-2, 6-2


Return to Club News

You may also like
More silverware for Carisbrooke at 2019 county awards
Tournaments at Carisbrooke in 2019
Aegon National Club League fixtures 2019
Save the date: The 2019 AGM has now been scheduled

Leave a Reply